BMW forklift drivers test IFOY innovations

  • At the TEST CAMP Intralogistics in Hannover, four experienced forklift drivers took a close look at the vehicles nominated for the IFOY AWARD for the current year as well as on former nominees.
  • As VIP testers the drivers were honoured with trophys.

Ismaning near Munich/Hannover, February 18, 2020. Ismaning near Munich/Hannover, February 18, 2020. They know from their everyday work what makes a good forklift truck: Four experienced industrial truck drivers from the BMW plant in Regensburg took a close look at all the products nominated for the IFOY AWARD as well as on some nominees of previous years, which were also part of the TEST CAMP Intralogistics. As VIP testers, Marco Forchhammer, Harald Grzeschik, Alexander Kühn and Johann Ruland tested the forklifts and industrial trucks with regard to the criteria market relevance, customer benefit, degree of innovation and functionality. In the end, their commitment was honoured in a special way: with a special trophy. The IFOY VIP Tester award was presented for the first time this year.

The test had demanded a lot from the drivers. Theo Egberts, official IFOY tester, had developed a special test course for the BMW drives, where they had to lift pallets upright and crosswise with a lot of sensitivity and put them down again exactly. A move that also goes down well with Marcus Wollens, Vice President Steering Production, Production System, Controlling, Logistics at the plant of BMW in Regensburg: "Our drivers have the relevant know-how about what makes a good forklift truck and what requirements it has to meet. It is a special honour for them that they are now allowed to put the IFOY models through their paces".

In total, the drivers took a close look at 19 different vehicles from six different manufacturers. Among them were not only forklift trucks and industrial trucks nominated for the IFOY Award 2020 but also numerous candidates from previous years, including the STILL iGo neo or the CROWN C-5 Four-Wheel LPG. "It is interesting for the drivers to see how much is happening on the forklift truck market over the years", emphasised Anita Würmser, chairperson of the IFOY jury. "In addition, satisfied drivers are an asset for any company, as equipping them with good trucks and industrial trucks can help in the fight against the shortage of skilled workers," she made clear.

For this reason, the IFOY organisations wants to enable more teams of forklift truck drivers to take part as VIP testers at the IFOY TEST DAYS next year. Interested companies can now apply for this by e-mail at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

The International Intralogistics and Forklift Truck of the Year (IFOY AWARD) recognises the year's best intralogistics products and system solutions. The aim of the organisation is to document the performance capability and innovative drive of the intralogistics, helping to boost competitiveness and raise the profile of the entire sector in the public arena. The winners of the IFOY AWARD are selected once a year by an independent jury of international trade journalists. The sponsor of the IFOY AWARD is the VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Sector Association. The IFOY partner is HANNOVER MESSE. The IFOY pallet partner is CHEP, the global market leader in pallet pooling. The IFOY technology partner is the battery charging specialist Fronius. The headquarters of the IFOY organisation are in Ismaning near Munich.

Members of the jury: Kirsty Adams, editor-in-chief SHD Logistics (UK), Vladimir Antonov, editor-in-chief Sklad i Technika (Russia), Snejina Badjeva, editor-in-chief Logistika magazine (Bulgaria), Winfried Bauer, editor-in-chief f+h Fördertechnik (Germany), Cecilia Biondi, editor-in-chief Logistica Management (Italy), Theo Egberts, IFOY tester and owner of Buro Andersom / Andersom Testing (Netherlands, without voting rights), Anders Karlsson, editor-in-chief Svensk Åkeritidning (Sweden), Klaus Koch, editor-in-chief Logistik&Fördertechnik, Handel Heute (Switzerland), Allan Leibowitz, editor-in-chief (Australia), Valeria Lima de Azevedo Nammur, editor-in-chief LogWeb Magazine (Brazil), Øyvind Ludt, editor-in-chief Moderne Transport (Norway), Bernd Maienschein, editor-in-chief MM Logistik (Germany), Marilena Matei, editorial director Tranzit / Tranzit Logistica (Romania), Anton Mizunov, editor-in-chief Skladskoj complex (Russia), Maurizio Peruzzi, editor-in-chief Il Giornale della Logistica (Italy), Matthias Pieringer, editor-in-chief Logistik Heute (Germany), Szilvia Rapi Jaubert, publisher and editor-in-chief Supply Chain Monitor (Hungary), Matthias Rathmann, editor-in-chief trans aktuell (Germany), Isabel Rodrigo, editor-in-chief Logística Profesional (Spain), Hans-Joachim Schlobach, publisher and editor-in-chief Business+Logistic (Austria), Sascha Schmel, managing director association materials handling and intralogistics in the VDMA (Germany, without voting rights), Sebastian Śliwieński, editor-in-chief Warehouse Monitor (Poland), Jarlath Sweeney, editor-in-chief Fleet transport (Ireland), Mats Udikas, editor-in-chief Transportnytt (Sweden), Ying Xu, editor-in-chief MM Logistics in China (China). The executive chairperson of the jury is Anita Wuermser, logistics journalist and managing partner of impact media projects.

Reproduction free of charge, courtesy copy requested.
Anita Würmser  |  impact media projects GmbH  |  Eckherstraße 10 b  |  D - 85737 Ismaning  I  Germany
T +49 (0)89 215384611  |  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.   |