IFOY AWARD 2017: Jungheinrich's Indoor Positioning is IFOY Special of the Year

  • International jury of trade journalists chooses Indoor Positioning System as "Special of the Year".
  • Jürgen Maidl, BMW Group, presents IFOY trophy.
  • Colourful IFOY Award ceremony at BMW World in Munich during the transport logistic.

Munich, May 9, 2017.   The IFOY Award 2017 in the category "Special of the Year" goes to the Indoor Positioning system from Jungheinrich AG in Hamburg. The international jury chose the intelligent system for the simple localisation of material handling as the must-have of 2017.

The winner was a well-kept secret up to the last moment. Last Tuesday, the name was revealed at the IFOY Award Night at BMW World in Munich, when BMW-Senior Vice President Jürgen Maidl presented the metal and glass trophy to the delighted recipients.

IFOY Award – Special of the Year 2017

The decisive factor for the jury was the excellent market relevance and the very high customer benefit. The reasons given by the jury: "The indoor localisation solution offers numerous advantages for customers, from greater transparency through to increased productivity of the vehicle fleet. As this concept uses smartphones and Bluetooth technology, it is not only suitable for vehicle types of different manufacturers but can also be implemented or adapted flexibly, rapidly and at low cost – when the warehouse layout is modified, for example. The usual drawbacks of other technologies, such as high costs or sensitivity to dirt, do not apply in this case".

Jungheinrich's Indoor Positioning system is based on an existing model in the consumer sector. Each truck is fitted with a smartphone, which – in connection with several beacons installed across the entire warehouse – calculates the trucks' respective positions and directly transmits this data to a server. Via a Web app, the trucks' positions can be tracked and the processed data based on this information can also be viewed – at any time and without delay. It permits the generation of location-based reports and the analysis of truck movements – live as well as retrospectively.

The Web-based software is intuitive and provides the user with the desired overview at all times as well as the option of making adjustments.

Four application options are possible: TruckFinder, RouteOptimizer, ZoneGuard and SpeedZoning. TruckFinder is the basic setting for the localisation of vehicles. RouteOptimizer is used to analyse driving routes, to identify problems and to initiate possible improvements. ZoneGuard assigns trucks to different departments. As soon as a truck leaves its zone, an e-mail is sent to the warehouse manager. Last but not least, SpeedZoning gives a warning if the speed limit is exceeded, for example, or if trucks are incorrectly parked. The warning first appears only on the smartphone of the driver and as an e-mail to the warehouse manager, but there is not yet any intervention in the control of the trucks – to automatically reduce the speed, for example.

The winners of the IFOY Award are selected once a year by an independent jury of leading international trade journalists. A neutral test and a scientific "innovation check" form the basis for assessment by the jury. Both test series compare the finalists with their respective competitors. Since 2013, the IFOY Award has become established as a benchmark for cost efficiency and innovation. Due to the specialised expertise it represents, it is seen as the most important innovation award in intralogistics. The sponsor of the IFOY Award, which enjoys the patronage of the German Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, is the VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association. Partners are Deutsche Messe with the leading international CeMAT trade fair for intralogistics in Hannover and the Munich fair with the transport logistic, bauma and IFAT events. IFOY pallet partner is CHEP, the global market leader in pallet pooling, IFOY technology partner is battery charging specialist Fronius.

You can find printable photos of all IFOY winners at:

All IFOY Test reports and Innovation Check profiles for free coverage: http://www.ifoy.org/en/ifoy-2017-en/nominations-2017

You can find printable photos in the press section at:
http://www.ifoy.org (ceremony from May 10, 2017)

IFOY-Logos: http://www.ifoy.org/en/press/press-photos/category/138-ifoy-logos-2017



2017 winners at a glance

Category: Warehouse Truck

iGo neo CX 20, Still

Category: AGV / Shuttle

TORsten, Torwegge

Category: Special of the Year

Indoor Positioning, Jungheinrich

Category: Special Vehicle

Tugger train with automatic loading and unloading, Still



The International Forklift Truck of the Year (IFOY AWARD) recognises the year's best materials handling equipment and intralogistics solutions. The aim of the organisation is to document the performance capability and innovative drive of the materials handling and intralogistics sector, helping to boost competitiveness and raise the profile of the entire intralogistics sector in the public arena. The winners of the IFOY Award are selected once a year by an independent jury of international trade journalists. The sponsor of the IFOY Award is the VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Sector Association. The IFOY partners are Deutsche Messe with the leading international CeMAT trade fair for intralogistics in Hannover, and the Messe München trade fair company in Munich with the "transport logistic", bauma and IFAT fairs. The IFOY pallet partner is CHEP, the global market leader in pallet pooling, The IFOY technology partner is the battery charging specialist Fronius. The patron of the IFOY Award is the German Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. The headquarters of the IFOY Organisation are in Ismaning near Munich.


Members of the jury: Vladimir Antonov, Editor-in-Chief of Sklad i Technika, (Russia), Snejina Badjeva, Editor-in-Chief LOGISTIKA magazine (Bulgaria), Dave Blanchard, Editorial Director Material Handling & Logistics/IndustryWeek (USA), Theo Egberts, IFOY tester and owner Buro Andersom/Andersom Testing (Netherlands, without voting rights), Harald Ehren, Editor-in-Chief Deutsche Logistik-Zeitung (DVZ) (Germany), Thilo Jörgl, Editor-in-Chief LOGISTIK HEUTE (Germany), Anders Karlsson, Editor-in-Chief Transport & Logistik iDag (Sweden), Klaus Koch, Editor-in-Chief Logistik&Fördertechnik, Handel Heute (Switzerland), Erik Kruisselbrink, Editor-in-Chief Logistiek Totaal (Netherlands), Allan Leibowitz, Editor-in-Chief forkliftaction.com (Australia), Valeria Lima de Azevedo Nammur, Publisher LOGWEB Magazin (Brazil), Øyvind Ludt, Editor-in-Chief Moderne Transport (Norway), Peter MacLeod, Editor-in-Chief SHD Magazine (United Kingdom), Bernd Maienschein, Editor-in-Chief MM Logistik (Germany), Marilena Matei, Editorial Manager Tranzit and Tranzit Logistica (Romania), Anton Mizunov, Editor-in-Chief Skladskoj Komplex (Logistics and Transport)(Russia), Maurizio Peruzzi, Editor-in-Chief Il Giornale della Logistica (Italy), Isabel Rodrigo, Editor-in-Chief Logística Profesional (Spain), Hans-Joachim Schlobach, Publisher-Editor and Editor-in-Chief BUSINESS+LOGISTIC (Austria), Sascha Schmel, Managing Director VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Sector Association (without voting rights), Sabine Schulz-Rohde, Editor-in-Chief Beschaffung aktuell (Germany), Sebastian Śliwieński, Editor-in-Chief Warehouse Monitor (Poland), Jarlath Sweeney, Editor-in-Chief Fleet Transport (Ireland), Mats Udikas, Editor-in-Chief Transportnytt (Sweden). Executive Jury Chairperson is Anita Würmser, logistics journalist and Managing Director of wuermser.communications.


Reproduction free of charge, courtesy copy requested.

Anita Würmser  |  wuermser.communications  |  Eckherstraße 10 b  |  D - 85737 Ismaning

phone  +49 (0)89 958226-11  |  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.   |  www.ifoy.org