IFOY AWARD 2017: Still's automatic Liftrunner is the Special Vehicle of the Year

  • International jury of trade journalists chooses the Still´s tugger train with automatic loading and unloading as the winner in the category "Special Vehicle".
  • Birgit Heitzer, Rewe Group, presents IFOY trophy.
  • Colourful IFOY Award ceremony at BMW World in Munich during the transport logistic.

Munich, May 9, 2017.   The IFOY Award 2017 in the category "Special Vehicle" goes to the tugger train with automatic loading and unloading from Still GmbH in Hamburg. The international jury selected the heavy-duty tugger train – purpose-designed to supply components to the production process on the site of an English construction machine manufacturer – as the best new product in the category of special vehicles.

The winner was a well-kept secret up to the last moment. Last Tuesday, the name was revealed at the IFOY Award Night at BMW World in Munich, when Birgit Heitzer, Director corporate logistics at Rewe Group, Cologne, presented the metal and glass trophy to the delighted recipients.

IFOY Award – Special Vehicle of the Year 2017

The key factor in the decision of the jury was the high level of customer benefit in combination with the new market potential. "The tugger train trailer with lateral ejector forks developed by Still as a customised solution is a practicable step towards the full automation of the production process. It extends the range of applications of tugger trains and therefore opens up a new market segment", in the words of the jury. The IFOY Test underlined the self-evident advantages of the heavy-duty tugger train in view of the increasing average age of people employed in logistics, as the physical performance capability of the operator is no longer relevant.

The liftrunner systems implemented by Still consist of a LTX tractor and the lift runner frame as well as trolleys. To allow loading and unloading of a tugger train with oversized load carriers, the C frames were for the first time equipped with two electrically controlled, double-telescopic fork pairs with a load capacity of up to 1,000 kg. In this way, the loading and unloading process of the tugger train was automated. The loading and unloading is remote controlled by the tugger train driver from the tugger. The adjustable forks are controlled on a panel on the tractor with touch screen and allow the driver to operate the tugger train intuitively.

The mini dome camera placed above the frame provides a panoramic view of the frame as well as the loading and unloading areas and transmits the live images to the control panel on the tractor. In addition, the system indicates the next useful action to the driver. If the unloading area is occupied, the driver is only allowed to pick up load carriers, whereas in vacant areas loads must be set down. Additionally installed laser-controlled positioners enable precise positioning of the tractor so that it can place the load carrier exactly in its designated storage space.

The winners of the IFOY Award are selected once a year by an independent jury of leading international trade journalists. A neutral test and a scientific "innovation check" form the basis for assessment by the jury. Both test series compare the finalists with their respective competitors. Since 2013, the IFOY Award has become established as a benchmark for cost efficiency and innovation. Due to the specialised expertise it represents, it is seen as the most important innovation award in intralogistics. The sponsor of the IFOY Award, which enjoys the patronage of the German Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, is the VDMA Materials Handling and Logistics Systems Sector Association. Partners are Deutsche Messe with the leading international CeMAT trade fair for intralogistics in Hannover and the Munich fair with the transport logistic, bauma and IFAT events. IFOY pallet partner is CHEP, the global market leader in pallet pooling, IFOY technology partner is battery charging specialist Fronius. 


You can find printable photos of all IFOY winners at:

All IFOY Test reports and Innovation Check profiles for free coverage: http://www.ifoy.org/en/ifoy-2017-en/nominations-2017

You can find printable photos in the press section at:
http://www.ifoy.org (ceremony from May 10, 2017)

IFOY-Logos: http://www.ifoy.org/en/press/press-photos/category/138-ifoy-logos-2017



2017 winners at a glance

Category: Warehouse Truck

iGo neo CX 20, Still

Category: AGV / Shuttle

TORsten, Torwegge

Category: Special of the Year

Indoor Positioning, Jungheinrich

Category: Special Vehicle

Tugger train with automatic loading and unloading, Still



The International Forklift Truck of the Year (IFOY AWARD) recognises the year's best materials handling equipment and intralogistics solutions. The aim of the organisation is to document the performance capability and innovative drive of the materials handling and intralogistics sector, helping to boost competitiveness and raise the profile of the entire intralogistics sector in the public arena. The winners of the IFOY Award are selected once a year by an independent jury of international trade journalists. The sponsor of the IFOY Award is the VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Sector Association. The IFOY partners are Deutsche Messe with the leading international CeMAT trade fair for intralogistics in Hannover, and the Messe München trade fair company in Munich with the "transport logistic", bauma and IFAT fairs. The IFOY pallet partner is CHEP, the global market leader in pallet pooling, The IFOY technology partner is the battery charging specialist Fronius. The patron of the IFOY Award is the German Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. The headquarters of the IFOY Organisation are in Ismaning near Munich.


Members of the jury: Vladimir Antonov, Editor-in-Chief of Sklad i Technika, (Russia), Snejina Badjeva, Editor-in-Chief LOGISTIKA magazine (Bulgaria), Dave Blanchard, Editorial Director Material Handling & Logistics/IndustryWeek (USA), Theo Egberts, IFOY tester and owner of Buro Andersom/Andersom Testing (Netherlands, without voting rights), Harald Ehren, Editor-in-Chief Deutsche Logistik-Zeitung (DVZ) (Germany), Thilo Jörgl, Editor-in-Chief LOGISTIK HEUTE (Germany), Anders Karlsson, Editor-in-Chief Transport & Logistik iDag (Sweden), Klaus Koch, Editor-in-Chief Logistik&Fördertechnik, Handel Heute (Switzerland), Erik Kruisselbrink, Editor-in-Chief Logistiek Totaal (Netherlands), Allan Leibowitz, Editor-in-Chief forkliftaction.com (Australia), Valeria Lima de Azevedo Nammur, Publisher LOGWEB Magazin (Brazil), Øyvind Ludt, Editor-in-Chief Moderne Transport (Norway), Peter MacLeod, Editor-in-Chief SHD Magazine (United Kingdom), Bernd Maienschein, Editor-in-Chief MM Logistik (Germany), Marilena Matei, Editorial Manager Tranzit and Tranzit Logistica (Romania), Anton Mizunov, Editor-in-Chief Skladskoj Komplex (Logistics and Transport)(Russia), Maurizio Peruzzi, Editor-in-Chief Il Giornale della Logistica (Italy), Isabel Rodrigo, Editor-in-Chief Logística Profesional (Spain), Hans-Joachim Schlobach, Publisher-Editor and Editor-in-Chief BUSINESS+LOGISTIC (Austria), Sascha Schmel, Managing Director VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Sector Association (without voting rights), Sabine Schulz-Rohde, Editor-in-Chief Beschaffung aktuell (Germany), Sebastian Śliwieński, Editor-in-Chief Warehouse Monitor (Poland), Jarlath Sweeney, Editor-in-Chief Fleet Transport (Ireland), Mats Udikas, Editor-in-Chief Transportnytt (Sweden). Executive Jury Chairperson is Anita Würmser, logistics journalist and Managing Director of wuermser.communications.


Reproduction free of charge, courtesy copy requested.

Anita Würmser  |  wuermser.communications  |  Eckherstraße 10 b  |  D - 85737 Ismaning

phone  +49 (0)89 958226-11  |  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.   |  www.ifoy.org